Stats: 2493 members, 8470 topics. Date: Monday, 21st May 2018 at 5:37pm
Welcome Guest!

Buhari Reconstitutes Governing Councils Of ABU, UNILAG, UNIBEN, 20 Others

1 Replies

Buhari Reconstitutes Governing Councils Of ABU, UNILAG, UNIBEN, 20 Others by
ArtistG.A.S . male On Apr 8, 2017

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday approved the appointments of Wale Babalakin, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari and AVM Muktar Mohammed as chairmen, governing councils of University of Lagos (UNILAG), Bayero University Kano (BUK) and Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria, Kaduna State.

The President also approved the reconstitution of the boards of 19 agencies and parastatals under the Federal Ministry of Education for four years.

The Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, said this in a statement issued in Abuja by the ministry’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Chinenye Ihuoma, yesterday to announce the reconstitution of the governing councils of 23 of the 40 federal universities in the country.

Adamu, who also appointed Ahaji Isah Ashiru and Dr. Jibril Oyekan as chairmen of the governing councils of University of Benin (UNIBEN) and University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), said their appointment was for a period of four years.

The minister said the reconstitution does not affect the 12 new federal universities in Lokoja, Otuoke, Gashua, Dustin-ma, Oye-Ekiti, Lafia, Gusau, Wukari, Kashere, Birnin-Kebbi, Duste and Ndifu-Alike-Ikwo, established by former President Goodluck Jonathan.

He said the institution affected were those whose governing councils’ tenures had elapsed or would expire on April 9, 2017.

“Pursuant to his powers under the laws establishing the federal universities in Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of 23 out of the 40 federal universities in the country for a period of four years, in the first instance,” the statement said.

“The institutions affected are those whose governing councils’ tenures have elapsed or would expire on 9th April, 2017.

“In making these appointments, Mr. President had taken cognizance of the requirements for membership into governing councils, which include among others, a minimum of a university degree, high integrity and commitment to educational development of the country as well as geographical spread in order to reflect federal character and foster sense of belonging.”

The chairmen for the reconstituted governing councils include: Chief Mike Olorunfemi, University of Nigeria, Nsukka; Wale Babalakin, UNILAG; John Ofem, Federal University of Technology Owerri; Sen. Nkechi Justina Nworgu, University of Calabar; Joshua Waklek, University of Ibadan; Niniola Nimota Akanbi, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University; Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, BUK; J.N Waku, Federal University of Technology, Akure and Alhaji Sani Maikudi, University of Abuja, among others.

Those appointed as board chairmen include: Prof. Ayo Banjo, National Universities commission (NUC); Chief Emeka Nwajiuba, Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund); Hon. Dr. Ekaete Obon Okon, National Institute for Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA); Dr. Mahmud Mohammed, Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC); Prof. Zainab Alkali, National Library of Nigeria (NLN); Dr. Abubakar Saddiq, National Examination Council (NECO) and Dr. Gidado Bello Akko, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education (NMEC).

Others are Prof. Gidado Tahir, National Commission for Nomadic Education (NCNE); Prof. Leonard Karshima Shilgba, National Business and Technical Education Board (NABTEB); Prof. Adamu Baikie, Teachers’ Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN); Alh. Maigari Dingyadi, National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE); Sen. Mallam Kaka Yale, National Teachers’ Institute (NTI); Prof. Buba Bajoga, National Mathematical Centre (NMC) and Dr. Emmanuel Ndukwe, Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

Also appointed are Chief N. N Nnabuchi, National Institute of Nigerian Languages (NINLAN); Chief Paul Unongo, Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC); Prof. Saliba Mukoro, Nigerian French Language Village (NFLV); Prof. Modupe Adelabu, National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) and Prof. O Oladusi, Nigerian Arabic Language Village (

Information is Power

dollypee13 . male On Apr 11, 2017


Currently viewing this : 1 guest